I MINA'BENTE ÑUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2007 (FIRST) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 26

Introduced by:

Ray Tenorio Frank F. Blas, Jr. J. T. Won Pat Tina Rose Muña Barnes Edward J.B. Calvo J. V. Espaldon Mark Forbes Judith Paulette Guthertz Frank T. Ishizaki J. A. Lujan A. B. Palacios, Sr. v. c. pangelinan R. J. Respicio D. L. G. Shimizu A. R. Unpingco

Relative to recognizing January 2007 as 'Youth Year' 'If Youth Won't...Then Who Will?' and to supporting the efforts of the Department of Youth Affairs for supporting our islands youth.

1 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I 2 MINA'BENTE ÑUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, the Department of Youth Affairs (DYA) was established in
1978 to assist Guam's youths under court jurisdiction through rehabilitation

and treatment programs in an effort to reduce recidivism and guide them
 back into the community as better citizens; and

3 WHEREAS, the Department of Youth Affairs initiated 'Youth Month', 4 known today as 'Youth Year', to support various schools island wide in 5 promoting programs geared towards adolescents and young adults; and

6 WHEREAS, the Department of Youth Affairs plans, coordinates, and
7 implements programs, services and activities aimed at youth development,
8 rehabilitation and involvement in our community; and

9 WHEREAS, this year, student representatives from Father Duenas 10 Memorial School had the honor of chairing the Youth Central Planning 11 Committee through the Department of Youth Affairs; and

12 WHEREAS, the Youth Central Planning Committee consists of student 13 representatives from the Academy of Our Lady of Guam, Agueda I. Johnston Middle School, Andersen Middle School, Bishop Baumgartner Memorial 14 15 School, DODEA Guam High School, DODEA South Middle School, 16 Evangelical Christian Academy, F.B. Leon Guerrero Middle School, George 17 Washington High School, Guam Adventist Academy, Guam Community 18 College, Guam International Christian Academy, Harvest Christian Academy, 19 Inarajan Middle School, John F. Kennedy High School, Jose Rios Middle 20 School, L.P. Untalan Middle School, Mt. Carmel School, Notre Dame High 21 School, Oceanview Middle School, Pacific Christian Academy, San Vicente 22 School, Santa Barbara School, Simon A. Sanchez High School, Southern High

2

School, St. Anthony School, St. Francis School, St. John's School, St. Paul
 Christian School, Temple Christian School, Trinity Christian School,
 University of Guam, Vicente A. Benavente Middle School, and the Twenty sixth (26th) Guam Youth Congress, all of whom have been contributing to
 activities such as the Youth Spirit Wave, Proclamation Signing, Oratorical
 Contest, Student Exchange Program, Talent Showcase, and Island Leadership
 Day; and

8 WHEREAS, the Department of Youth Affairs strongly supports its 9 employees, all of whom go above and beyond to construct positive attitudes 10 among our youth; now, therefore, be it

11 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of *I Mina'Bente Ñuebi Na* 12 *Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the 13 people of Guam, recognize 'Youth Year 2007' 'If Youth Won't...Then Who 14 Will?' and supports the efforts of the Department of Youth Affairs to support 15 our island's youth; and be it further

16 **RESOLVED**, that *I Mina'Bente Ñuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does 17 hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam, also 18 recognize the student advisors, parents, and student representatives of their 19 respective schools, namely the Academy of Our Lady of Guam, Agueda I. 20 Johnston Middle School, Andersen Middle School, Bishop Baumgartner 21 Memorial School, DODEA Guam High School, DODEA South Middle School, 22 Evangelical Christian Academy, F.B. Leon Guerrero Middle School, George

Washington High School, Guam Adventist Academy, Guam Community 1 2 College, Guam International Christian Academy, Harvest Christian Academy, 3 Inarajan Middle School, John F. Kennedy High School, Jose Rios Middle School, L.P. Untalan Middle School, Mt. Carmel School, Notre Dame High 4 5 School, Oceanview Middle School, Pacific Christian Academy, San Vicente School, Santa Barbara School, Simon A. Sanchez High School, Southern High 6 7 School, St. Anthony School, St. Francis School, St. John's School, St. Paul Christian School, Temple Christian School, Trinity Christian School, 8 9 University of Guam, Vicente A. Benavente Middle School, and the Twenty-10 sixth (26th) Guam Youth Congress, for their contributions to the 'Youth Year 2007', 'If Youth Won't...Then Who Will?'; and be it further 11

12 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive 13 Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Mr. 14 15 Christopher M. Duenas, Director, Department of Youth Affairs; to Mr. Pascual 16 V. Artero, Program Coordinator III, Department of Youth Affairs; to Ms. 17 Rebecca J. Respicio, Program Coordinator II, Department of Youth Affairs; to 18 Youth Central Planning Committee, to the principals of Academy of Our Lady 19 of Guam; Agueda I. Johnston Middle School; Andersen Middle School; Bishop 20 Baumgartner Memorial School; DODEA Guam High School; DODEA South 21 Middle School; Evangelical Christian Academy; F.B. Leon Guerrero Middle 22 School; George Washington High School; Guam Adventist Academy; Guam

4

Community College; Guam International Christian Academy; Harvest 1 Christian Academy; Inarajan Middle School; John F. Kennedy High School; 2 3 Jose Rios Middle School, L.P. Untalan Middle School, Mt. Carmel School, Notre Dame High School; Oceanview Middle School; Pacific Christian 4 Academy; San Vicente School; Santa Barbara School; Simon A. Sanchez High 5 School; Southern High School; St. Anthony School; St. Francis School; St. 6 John's School; St. Paul Christian School; Temple Christian School; Trinity 7 8 Christian School; University of Guam; Vicente A. Benavente Middle School; 9 and to the Twenty-sixth (26th) Guam Youth Congress; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan. 10

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF *I MINA'BENTE ÑUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE 29TH DAY OF JANUARY 2007.

MARK FORBES Speaker and Chairman, Executive Committee

RAY TENORIO Senator and Secretary of the Legislature